Mine By J.L. Butler Hits Shelves Today!!


MINE
(A Novel of Obsession)
By: JL Butler
Publisher: William Morrow | 
Hardcover | On-Sale June 26, 2018 | $26.99


He wants his wife to disappear. So do you…

On-sale June 26th comes the much-anticipated novel MINE by JL Butler; it is a story of desire, social ambition and dark secrets. It is a sexy thriller that lingers with you; perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and Behind Closed Doors.

Young divorce lawyer Francine Day is one big case away from securing her place among London’s legal elite. But when she meets her new client, Martin Joy, she finds herself unable fight the powerful connection between them and the two begin a blistering, illicit affair.

Martin insists his marriage is over but Francine doesn’t quite believe him. Certain details he’s told her don’t quite add up. Consumed with a passion she cannot control, Francine becomes obsessed with Martin’s relationship with his soon-to-be ex-wife Donna, following them both home after a clandestine night out. But that evening is the last time that Donna Joy is seen alive. How did Donna vanish and why did Francine wake up in her neighbor’s flat with blood on her clothes?

As media interest in Donna escalates, and Martin becomes the prime suspect in his wife’s disappearance, Francine finds herself caught in a dangerous labyrinth of deception, lies, and secrets, in which one false move could lead to her undoing. The further Francine goes to find answers, the tighter the net seems to draw—until her career, her professional reputation and her life, are in danger.

While this is a novel of obsession, it is also one of resilience. Francine Day is an unforgettable character: smart and driven, successfully managing mental illness and overcoming obstacles of class and opportunity. The twists and turns in this novel will keep you guessing and keep you on your toes, but it is Francine’s ability to extricate herself from the tangled web of her relationship that lingers with you long after her story has concluded.

MINE was one of the hottest acquisitions of the 2017 London Book Fair, subject to a string of international deals. It is in development with Neal Moritz’s Original Film for Sony Pictures.



“Engrossing…An impeccably paced plot.” —Publishers Weekly

“Butler’s story of ambition, lust, and fear will engage readers drawn to thrillers featuring unreliable narrators (with a little steaminess thrown into the mix).” —Booklist

“A gripping, glamorous, thrill-a-minute ride through London's dark side.”—Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She Said

“Taut, sinister, clever, with dark and delicious twist coiled in its heart.” —S K Tremayne, author of The Ice Twins

“MINE should come with a government health warning: ‘All children, spouses and friends will be ignored until the final thrilling page.’ Tightly wound and delivering twist after twist, this is for everyone looking for the next Girl On A Train.” —Celia Walden, author of Harm’s Way

“Fiendishly plotted and perfectly paced, MINE is a thrilling exploration of obsession, love, professional duty and personal trauma, all played out against the backdrop of a brooding, rain-lashed London. Few books are worthy of a 4am finish, MINE is definitely one of them.” —Caz Frear, bestselling author of the forthcoming Sweet Little Lies




JL Butler is the nom de plume of popular London-based British author who has a background in law and magazine journalism. She has always wanted to write a novel set in the Inns of Court—not just because she loves legal thrillers but because it is one of the most atmospheric and Gothic parts of London. She puts, “It’s like stepping back in time.” 



The moment lawyer Fran Day meets her newest client she can feel the sparks simmering between them, he's handsome, wealthy, and very charming... but he is also her client, and mixing business with pleasure is a big no-no. But, somewhere along the line boundaries get pushed and she finds herself getting involved with a man that she knows she shouldn't but the magnetic pull between them is just to hard to resist. Then the unthinkable happens and the wife he is supposed to be divorcing disappears, and fingers begin to be pointed in his direction and soon after Fran starts to have her doubts about Martin too. Can the man she has fallen deeply for be capable of what he is being accused of, or is this a matter of someone framing him to take the fall? Fran needs answers and she is determined to find them, even if it lands her in danger too...

Between the pages of Mine you will find an intense and expertly woven story of obsession, greed, and forbidden passion... a story that is certain to keep you guessing until the last page is turned! This first time read gripped me from the first page, and with each page that followed I continued to be wowed by the words, and astounded by the predicament Fran found herself in. If you are in the mood for something a little steamy and heavy on suspense I highly recommend you get your hands on this one, it is sure to give you everything your searching for... and much, much more!! It easily claimed my vote for one of the best suspense reads I have read so far this year... it's down right spellbinding!!

I requested an advanced copy of this title from Edelweiss and I am voluntarily leaving my honest opinion.



⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Now Available... Sunnyside Christmas by Jacie Floyd!

A Christmas Proposition is Now Available!

Solace Island By Meg Tilly is Now Live!